When It Rained at Hembry Castle–Our Newest Release

When It Rained at Hembry Castle is now available.
When It Rained at Hembry Castle is now available.

From Meredith Allard, author of the bestselling Loving Husband Trilogy, comes When It Rained at Hembry Castle, a lush historical novel set in Victorian England. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it’s the story of an aristocratic family, secrets that dare not be told, and the wonder of falling in love.

When the 8th Earl of Staton dies, his eldest son, the unreliable Richard, inherits the title and the family’s home—Hembry Castle. The Earl’s niece, the American-born Daphne Meriwether, is intrigued by Edward Ellis, a rising author with a first-hand knowledge of Hembry Castle—from the servants’ hall. And Edward, though captivated by the lovely Daphne, has his own hurdles he must overcome. Can Richard come to terms with his title before bringing ruin on his family? Will Edward and Daphne find their way to each other despite the obstacles of life at Hembry Castle?

When It Rained at Hembry Castle is a page-turning, romantic novel with vivid characters and an engrossing story that will keep you guessing until the end.

Now Available from Amazon, Amazon UK, BN, iTunes, and Kobo.

Ebook: .99 cents (on sale until 3/31/16)     Paperback: $12.99



History Will Be Kind is Now Available

History Will Be KindThe Copperfield Review’s first anthology, History Will Be Kind, is now available from AmazonBNKobo, and iTunes. The ebook is $3.99 and the paperback is $11.99.

About the Anthology:

Since its beginning in 2000, The Copperfield Review has become known worldwide as a leading literary journal for readers and writers of historical fiction. Now, to celebrate its 15th anniversary, Meredith Allard and the editors of The Copperfield Review have put together the journal’s first anthology. History Will Be Kind features some of our most beloved contributors as well as new authors certain to become favorites. Whether you’re an avid reader of The Copperfield Review or a fan of historical fiction, History Will Be Kind has historical short stories and poetry for you.

Anthology Submissions Now Closed

Thank you to everyone who submitted their historical short stories and poems for our first anthology. Submissions are now closed. We received over 300 submissions, so we have a lot of reading to do over the next few weeks! At this time, we expect an Autumn 2015 release date for the anthology, and it will be available as an e-book and in print. We will have more information regarding the release date once we finish reading the submissions.

If you missed the submission dates for the anthology, you can still submit your historical fiction, historical poetry, or historical nonfiction for the next edition of The Copperfield Review. See our guidelines for the journal at www.copperfieldreview.com.

Changes to Submission Guidelines for The Copperfield Review’s First Anthology

We have made a few changes to the submission guidelines for The Copperfield Review‘s first anthology. We are currently accepting submissions of historical fiction, poetry, history-based nonfiction, and history-based creative nonfiction for inclusion in the anthology. We have opened the submissions to include work not previously published in The Copperfield Review. If you are an author whose work previously appeared in The Copperfield Review, we ask that you resubmit your work for consideration for inclusion in the anthology. The deadline for submissions for the anthology is June 15, 2015. The anthology will be published Summer 2015. See our Submission Guidelines for more details. Questions can be directed to copperpressbooks(at)aol(dot)com.

Loving Husband Trilogy Press Release


Copperfield Press Releases Her Loving Husband’s Return From the Amazon Best-Selling Loving Husband Trilogy

Las Vegas, NV [May 17, 2013] – James and Sarah Wentworth fans can rejoice. Her Loving Husband’s Return, the much anticipated final book in Meredith Allard’s Loving Husband Trilogy, is now available. Her Loving Husband’s Return, currently on the Amazon Best-Seller List in the Paranormal and Supernatural categories, brings the Wentworths’ journey between the past and the present to a surprise conclusion.

The Loving Husband Trilogy is a unique blend of historical fiction with a modern day paranormal love story set in Salem, Massachusetts. Book One, Her Dear & Loving Husband, released April 2011, follows James and Sarah through the Salem Witch Trials in 1692. Book Two, Her Loving Husband’s Curse, released April 2012, focuses on the forced removal of the Cherokee on the Trail of Tears in 1838. Book Three, Her Loving Husband’s Return, focuses on the Japanese-American Internments during World War II.

While the Loving Husband Trilogy is often compared to Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, author Meredith Allard believes it is more similar to Deborah Harkness’ All Souls Trilogy. “Harkness’ books weave history with a present day story, and that’s what the Loving Husband books do,” Allard says. “The Loving Husband books also have vampires and a witch or two.”

As the Executive Editor of The Copperfield Review, Allard is no stranger to historical fiction. When asked why she chose to weave historical fiction into a vampire story, she says, “Being the historical fiction person I am, I knew I had to include the Salem Witch Trials when I decided to set the novels in Salem, Massachusetts. The other historical periods grew from the story I wanted to tell about these characters, James and Sarah, who are deeply in love but struggle against obstacles that keep them apart.”

About Meredith Allard

Since 2000, Meredith Allard has been the Executive Editor of The Copperfield Review, an award-winning literary journal for readers and writers of historical fiction. She received her B.A. and M.A. degrees in English from California State University, Northridge, and she has taught creative writing and writing historical fiction seminars at Learning Tree University, UNLV, and the Las Vegas Writers Conference. Her short fiction and articles have appeared in journals such as The Paumanok Review, Moondance, Wild Mind, Muse Apprentice Guild, Writers Weekly, CarbLite, and ViewsHound. She is the author of the Amazon Best-Selling Loving Husband Trilogy, as well as the historical novels Victory Garden, Woman of Stones, and My Brother’s Battle. Victory Garden and Woman of Stones have also been Amazon Best-Sellers in the Historical Fiction and Religious Fiction categories.

For more information about HER LOVING HUSBAND’S RETURN or the LOVING HUSBAND TRILOGY, please visit:

Websites: http://www.meredithallard.com



The Loving Husband Trilogy is available in e-book format from Amazon, BN, iTunes, Kobo, and other online retailers. Purchasing information can be found at http://www.meredithallard.com.

Her Dear & Loving Husband: FREE

Her Loving Husband’s Curse: $2.99

Her Loving Husband’s Return: $2.99


Two New Titles from Copperfield Press Now Available

This summer has seen two new releases from Copperfield Press, both from The Copperfield Review’s Executive Editor Meredith Allard. Victory Garden is an historical novel set around the Woman Suffrage Movement and World War I. Woman of Stones is a Biblical novel set around a story from the New Testament. Both books are now available from Smashwords and Amazon, and will soon be available at all online retailers. At this time, the books are available as e-books only, but paperback editions will be available September 2012.

See Our Books to learn more, and see Buy Our Books for purchasing information.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑